D. Glenn Hilts Scholarship

*** The 2017 winners are Dustin Kelley (attending the University of Illinois) and Kaitlin Kendrick (attending Simmons College) ***

The D. Glenn Hilts Scholarship is offered by the Association of Seventh-day Adventists. The scholarship was established by Dr. Margarete Hilts in memory of her husband Dr. Glenn Hilts. It was first awarded in 1985, to recognize excellence in scholarship and to encourage individuals with leadership potential to seek employment in a Seventh-day Adventist library.

To qualify, applicants must be Seventh-day Adventists in good standing who have been accepted into a library school accredited by the American Library Association, and expect to study at least one full academic year on a full-time basis. Applicants not attending a library school in the United States or Canada must be accepted into an overseas graduate library school recognized by the International Federation of Library Associations.

Are there scholarships available at this time?

Yes, ASDAL is offering a $1,500-award to the most qualified applicant for the 2017-2018 school year.

How does one apply for the D. Glenn Hilts Scholarship?

Fill out the Application Form and submit the complete package to the Jessica Spears Chair of the ASDAL Scholarship and Awards Subcommittee.

What is the deadline for submitting applications for the 2016-2017 school year?

July 14, 2017


Scholarship and Awards Committee

Darel Bennedbaek (2015-2018)
Jessica Spears (2014-2017)
Healther Rodriguez-James (2016-2019)
Grace Carr-Benjamin (ex officio)
Xiaoming Xu [ASDAL Treasurer]